Management Board

The management of the Clausthal Center for Materials Engineering is the responsibility of the Board of Directors. This consists of three professors from Clausthal University of Technology and one professor each from the University of Hannover and the Technical University of Braunschweig. They are elected for three years. The board elects a chairman from among its members, who represents the CZM externally.


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Maus-Friedrichs (Spokesman of the Board)

Institute for Energy Research and Physical Technologies, Clausthal University of Technology

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Wesling

Institute for Welding Technology and Separating Production Processes, Clausthal University of Technology

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Harald Schmidt

Institute of Metallurgy Robert-Koch-Straße 42 Phone: +49-5323-72-2094 Email:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Prof. h. c. Klaus Dilger

Institute for Joining and Welding Technology, Braunschweig University of Technology

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans Jürgen Maier

Institute for Materials Science, Leibniz University of Hanover